Minnesota Dental Assistant Requirements

If you’re ready to become a Minnesota dental assistant, this guide will help you navigate through the requirements, training, and certifications needed to excel in this role. Minnesota is a great place for you to start your career in dental assisting, offering you various opportunities for professional growth.

Guide to Certification and Licensure

Minnesota recognizes two levels of dental assisting, each with specific requirements:

  1. Unlicensed Dental Assistant

No formal education is required for an unlicensed dental assistant, but training under the supervision of a licensed dentist is mandatory. Tasks are limited to basic supportive procedures and those not requiring professional licensure.

  1. Licensed Dental Assistant (LDA)

To become a Licensed Dental Assistant, you must complete a CODA-accredited dental assisting program and pass the following:

  • Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) Exams: This includes the Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) exam which covers General Chairside Assisting (GC), Radiation Health and Safety (RHS), and Infection Control (ICE).
  • Minnesota State Licensure Exam: Administered by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, this state-specific exam ensures you meet all local requirements for licensure.

Expanded Duties Certifications

In Minnesota, dental assistants can obtain additional certification to perform expanded functions, enhancing their skills and career opportunities. Some of these certifications include:

  • Restorative Functions
  • Sealant Application
  • Coronal Polishing
  • Nitrous Oxide Monitoring

A career as a dental assistant in Minnesota is both fulfilling and promising, providing opportunities for professional growth and advancement. By meeting the educational, certification, and continuing education requirements, you can pave the way for a successful and impactful career in dental assisting.

Get started with GoTu today!